top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVajira Perera

Exploring Skip Counting

Updated: Mar 8, 2020

We explored Storyteller Language (lesson from Reading Strategies by Jennifer Serevallo). Then I introduced the math concept that was to be explore in their stories; Skip Counting. We had been studying skip counting in guided math groups and exploration stations for a while, therefore, I thought it would be interesting to see how they would add this into their stories.



I read a short book that I used with one of my Guided Reading groups called 'A Trip to the Market' which inspired the that I then modelled to them. The character (raven) in my story had to plan a party for 3 and visited the market. Raven had to keep track of all the goodies in threes and she practiced skip counting in 3s.

Myself and Mary (librarian) set the kids free to explore skip counting in their stories.



Skip counting various ways but only 2 skips...


Skip counting by 2's


I noticed that a few of my Grade 2 students were not ready to add math to their stories. I gave them the space for the play to happen and when they are ready, I believe they will be confident to explore the math.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Digital Literacy

With this project I am hoping to make students will comfortable with using technology in the classroom. My students are Grade ⅔ and their main interaction with technology at home is video games, Youtu

bottom of page