top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVajira Perera

Storytelling in Math

Updated: Mar 8, 2020


My inquiry began when I stumbled upon the concept of Math and Story on Janice Nowakoski's blog (https://blogs.sd38.bc.ca/sd38mathandscience/) a while ago. I was fascinated by the idea of students using mathematical concepts in their stories to make math more meaningful for them. And after much reading and research I finally began taking baby steps into introducing this to my class this school year.

To get my head around the finding the Curricular Competencies of Math and English Language Arts, I used the unit planning tool provided by the Provincial Outreach Programs for the Early Years (POPEY). This planning tool can be found at (https://popey.ca/sites/default/files/RC%20Planning%20Guide.pdf).

I will be working along side our teacher librarian and district math helping teacher.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Digital Literacy

With this project I am hoping to make students will comfortable with using technology in the classroom. My students are Grade ⅔ and their main interaction with technology at home is video games, Youtu

bottom of page